Don't Depend on Me 12 inch


This group was signed to Charlie Gillet’s Oval Records label in the early 1980s. Gillet is well known in the music industry, for giving major exposure to Latin and African jazz music for many years on his radio shows, and was impressed by the sophistication of the band’s demo. The initial line up included Bones on percussion, Pete Quinton on drums, Mick Ward on bass and vocals, Bob Williams on guitar, and later on Derek Green on lead and backing vocals, and a young keyboard player named Paul Hardcastle. They went on to release the singles Don’t Depend On Me which came backed with the ultra funky Time Machine, Time’s Running Out, and In the Middle of Spring.

Whilst the other members continued on with their new vocalist Helen Rodgers, Hardcastle and Green left the band and became First Light. After transferring to their own label DDR (Direct Drive Records), they made even more of an impact on the UK’s dancefloors with popular singles like Anything, ABC (Falling in Love's Not Easy), I Need Some Sunshine, and Pass The Paper.

*Updated November 2014

Anything 12 inch from 1984