Delroy Murray

Roger Achampong


Delroy Murray and Roger Achampong were two session musicians, who started having a conversation between recording breaks. They played bass guitar and keyboards respectively, and later on began to compose songs together. Their debut, Be With You Tonight, came out on their own label to minimum response, and another single, Next Time I’ll Know, was released during the latter months of 1984 and fared no better. Once they had signed to London Records, Takes A Little Time their aptly titled single, caused a buzz and gained them major airplay, while their promotional video for the song received heavy rotation on the new cable channel Music Box. Other singles such as Hit And Run and The River co-written by the duo, Steve Harvey, and Jean Paul Maunick followed thereafter.

In 1986 they released the mellow track Sunshine, and promoted What You Gonna Do About It on Channel Four's Solid Soul programme. Their self--titled LP was produced by Scottish singer Harvey, and featured contributions from Jane Eugene and Julie Roberts on background vocals. Andy Scott, Alan Murphy, Vic Lynton and Mitch Dalton supplied additional guitars, while Andy Scott and Steve Everett augmented Achampong's keyboards, and Tony Moroni, Steve Harvey, and Nigel Martinez supplied percussion. The album also included their version of Lionel Bart’s Where Is Love from the musical Oliver.

In 1987, their second LP Beat To Beat appeared on Metronome Records. It bolstered the singles Jody and Waiting In Vain.

In the early 1990s, Murray resurfaced on British television as the musical director for the 291 Club.

The River 12"

Debut album